Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Size outboard?

Started by Steve Cornacchia, November 14, 2019, 08:40:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve Cornacchia

Hi Everyone,

I bought my eclipse (2015) in May and enjoyed my first season on the Chesapeake with it. Just put it back on the trailer for the winter.

Question - the boat came with a Tohatsu 8HP outboard. It really moves the boat but I can't help but feel it is too much power and weight for a boat of this size. I could see the waterline was above the bottom paint on the stern. What are your thoughts? Should I drop down a few HP and will that make a significant change to the weight? That outboard is heavy! and I have no experience with how smaller outboards may weigh in comparison. I like the power it gives but don't think I need it for where I sail.

Thanks!

Steve

slode

The 8hp is definitely oversize.  A 6hp will push her to hull speed in any conditions at less than 3/4 throttle and cruise 4 knots at just over idle.  I see at least on the new Tohatsus that the 8hp is a step up to a different engine/casing/housing and is about 25-30lbs heavier than the 4-6hp models.  The smaller unit will probably give you better efficiency too.  1.5 gallons through my 6hp Tohatsu gives me a good 8 hours of slow-mid cruising time.

Depending on your budget, if you can get yours sold and get a 5-6hp for an even trade or better go for it.  But if you're going to loose on the deal I'd keep what you have.  The Eclipse is a bit heavy in the stern anyway.  I store my spare anchor and any other heavy stuff in the v-birth storage to keep it as far forward as possible.  Get some weight up front to lever her out and you'll probably be fine.

"Sylvia" 2006 Eclipse #41

Steve Cornacchia