a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Hello I'm a new member and have a 2013 Suncat

Started by oceanroadus, April 19, 2016, 01:29:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oceanroadus

Hello, I also posted in the general forum but wanted to do so in the Suncat area as well since I can see myself spaending a lot of time here in the coming months!  I have been admiring the boat design for a few years and we just bought and are outfitting her for some day sailing-overnights around Crystal River, FL.  It will be myself (Frank), my wife and our 2 kids (8&11) for crew.  I am a former schooner bum with lots of time as crew on big boats engaged in sail training.  That said I have lots to learn about the modern small rigs.  I have sailed some modern small boats including an Ensign 22 and a good bit of canoe sailing recently but I will be looking for advice and recommendations from the forum.  Glad to be involved and looking forward to sailing with a gaff rig again!

Frank 
Sunday Cat "Tik Tik"

Previous boats: "Cherry Red" 14' sailing canoe, Suncat "Teala", Legacy "Santosha"

rogerschwake

We all welcome another Sun Cat sailor to the group. I've had mine for about four years and trailer sail around the mid-west. Four on this boat sounds like a lot, but it sure will bring the family together. Have fun with your boat and let us know if you have any questions, someone here should have an answer for you.

ROGER

sjaffess

Where are you living that you plan to sail out of Crystal River?  I'm about an hour away in Summerfield.  I have a Suncat Daysailor that I keep on Lake Wieir.  Do you plan to trail the boat or leave it in the water?  If you would like to come over, I could take you out and give you a trial sail and show you the ropes.  It's a wonderful boat and so easy to sail (especially single handed)   (sgjaffess@gmail.com)

oceanroadus