a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Pamlico Sound

Started by crazycarl, March 19, 2015, 05:32:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crazycarl

We'll be heading to Oriental, North Carolina next week to meet with a realtor about waterfront properties. 

The idea is to find something for retirement (hopefully within the next 5 years). 

Most of the properties are within a 1/4 mile of the sound itself, up protected waterways.

I'm aware of the sailing history of New Bern and Oriental, but is there anything I should stay away from?

If we move there, and after building a house, I'll look for a 28 to 32 foot sailboat.

CC
Oriental, "The Sailing Capitol of North Carolina".

1985 Compac 19/II  "Miss Adventure"
1986 Seidelmann 295  "Sur La Mer"

Bob23

Yes. The main thing you should know is to stop in NJ and pick me up! Did I mention I'm a licensed builder?
Good for you both...have a great time.
Bob23

crazycarl

Bob,

if we drive through D.C on the way home,  you may have the opportunity to wine and dine us!

CC

wes

Carl - first thing to know is that Oriental is on the Neuse River, not the Pamlico Sound. Of course the Neuse is four or fve miles wide at Oriental, so it does look nearly as big as a sound. You might want to chat with Charlie Deisher - he could easily be persuaded to sail his 27 down from New Bern and take you out onto the river.

Wes
"Sophie", 1988 CP 27/2 #74
"Bella", 1988 CP 19/3 #453
Bath, North Carolina

Tim Gardner

Carl, if you're driving to NC, you'll be passing very close to Smith Mountain Lake!  You have an open invitation to stop here for a wine & dine event! 

TG
Never Be Afraid to Try Something New, Remember Amateurs Built the Ark.  Professionals Built the Titanic (update) and the Titan Submersible.

deisher6

Hey Carl:
I can be persuaded to take our C-27 any place for almost any reason.