a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Sun Cat Anchor Roller

Started by reedtg3, July 14, 2012, 10:02:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

reedtg3

Sun Cat newbie here.  Does anyone know the make and model of the bow anchor roller Hutchins installs on the Sun Cat?  I would expect that the roller was designed for a specific anchor type and weight, but I haven't been able to find that information yet.  If you have the factory installed roller on your Sun Cat, I would like to hear which anchor you are using and whether you are satisfied with it.
Tom
CP 17 SC 377 "Cattail"   

skip1930

I'll bet you can find the roller in a West Marine Catalog. Most of their ancillary boat accessories are from West Marine.

I use an 8 lb Danforth on my CP-19. [see Photobucket pics] And I keep a smaller 5 lb [?] Danforth with 3 ft chain and 50 ft of line under the settee for a quick ground tackle stop for lunch if I'm just gunk holing around.

skip.

bfelton

Once you pick your anchor try Windline.  They produce anchor rollers among other things.  Ordering directly from the factory can often be the best price.

Bert Felton

Salty19

You'll want to pick your anchor based on the bottom conditions found where you plan to anchor. Each type have different holding characteristics for rocky, gravel, mud, deep mud, sand, limestone, etc type bottoms.   FOr example, I drag a dansforth big time on the shale bottom of our lake as the tines do not dig in.  But the Lewmar claw type (Bruce style, non swiveling) works great.  Then once you've chosen the anchor type, you'll see specs for that anchor for recommended boat lengths to use with that anchor.  It could range from 4-20lbs on a Suncat depending on which type. Doesn't hurt to go one size bigger, especially ifs you're in tides/current or rough water.