News:

Howdy, Com-Pac'ers!
Hope you'll find the Forum to be both a good resource and
a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Hoping to buy a 16, have a few questions - Update - bought it!

Started by Cevin c Taylor, August 20, 2011, 12:23:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cevin c Taylor

Hello:  I'm new to sailing, and to this forum.  I've settled on a Compac 16 as a good boat to start with, and I have an offer on one that has been accepted by the owner.  It's currently in the water at a marina, and I went to see it a few days ago, and the owner took me out for a sail.  Overall, it looks in very good shape.  It's a 1983 model.  I looked over all the outside, and went down in the cabin and looked around.  The owner had gotten there a while before me, and had been cleaning it up and replacing one of the lines.  Inside I saw no signs of leaking.  Even when he opened the rear storage area where the scupper drains pass through.  It was dry as far as I could tell.  Correct me if I'm wrong, but I see the fact that it has been in the water since May or so as a good thing for judging how watertight it is.  I mean if it were up on a trailer somewhere, I would have no way of knowing if there are currently any leaks in the hull.  In the water, no matter how much someone tried to dry it up in the hour or so before I got there, there would be no way he hide everything.  He seems like a real honest guy, and we had a good time sailing.  We agreed on a price and a pickup time.  I told him that of course I haven't seen anything below the waterline, so the only thing that would kill the deal would be if there were a serious problem there that came to light when we pull it out of the water.  My questions boil down to these:  
1.  Is my thinking correct here about it being in the water being a good thing for revealing problems?