a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Unresponsive Steering

Started by spachec1, October 22, 2010, 07:51:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

spachec1

Hello fellow CP16 owners. I am a novice and new owner of a 1981 CP16. Although I am far from an experienced sailor I am trying to get out as much as possible to increase my proficiency. One question that I have for my more experienced colleagues relates to the boats handling. I noticed that when tacking and she is coming around the steering with the tiller is unresponsive and the boat struggles to rebound on the turn. It is as if the wind pushes the bow. Has anyone had the same experience and if so, any suggestions on how to overcome this?

newt

Repeat this mantra after me "The keel and the rudder only work when the boat is moving" I need reminding everytime I am in the pond and the rudder isn't working :).
Compacs are not like dingys in that they need a little speed to be able to come about. So much so that just before I tack into the wind I fall off the wind briefly to build up more speed. Even more so fighting wave action. Know how to gybe is important ( at least to me) because somedays I just can't come about well, so I have to go the other direction.

lostsailor101

spachec1,

I agree with Newt...you must keep the boat moving through the tack. Follow his advice on falling off a little before hand, to build up the momentum. A new ida sailor rudder will also help... but most importantly time on the tiller to learn how your boat responds...Good luck...Keep the wind in your sails and enjoy.

Bob23

I like to backwind the jib halfway through the tack...helps to bring the bow around a bit faster. Niether the 16 or 23 are super-quick tackers and they do need some speed. I never touch my main sheet when tacking; I just leave it where it is and it provides a bit of power through the tack.