a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Inadvertant Knockdown

Started by Al, July 07, 2010, 12:40:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Al

According to several articles, one of the key features of the CP16 is its self righting capability & seaworthiness. Fortunately for me, those articles were correct. Last weekend, I had a novice at the helm (not that I'm an expert). He was doing rather well tacking into 10 knot winds with an occasional 15 knot gust. I did notice that he would start on a close reach and end up on a beam reach with the main close hauled. This was not an issue until I spotted ripples on the water indicating higher winds (20 to 25 knot wind gusts leftover from hurricane Alex). I told him to head into the wind. He later told me that he kept the same heading and expected to just go faster. Apparently, he didn't understand my comment on maximum hull speed for a displacement vessel. The next thing I knew we got knocked down and I was flying over the rail. Fortunately I grabbed the rail & keep my head above water. At this point the main was not in the water but water was coming over the rail. I uncleated the jib, but nothing changed. Then I uncleated the main and the boat immediately righted itself and launched me into the cockpit. With its self draining footwell and no cockpit lockers to flood the cabin, the CP16 handled the situation well. Lessons learned: Don't close haul the main on a beam reach. Keep one hand on the main sheet during gusty conditions. The CP16 can be knocked down (but it didn't turtle or sink). I would like to think that the boat would right itself if left unattended, but I didn't want to wait for the results. Did I miss any other lessons?

Bob23

Great tale, Al.