a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Closing in on a goal

Started by Renae, October 12, 2020, 03:16:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Renae

This is season 2 on my Suncat.  I didn't track my time well last year, but I estimate 50-60 sailing hours for 2019.  I'm at 69.25 so far this season, still hoping to hit 75.  My goal for next year is 100 hours, which I think is probably the most I can pull off as a trailer sailor (with a nearly full time job).  If I ever get a permanent slip, I'd look to double that.

Last year was good learning; this year good sailing.  I hadn't sailed a keelboat prior to last season, and I self-taught from mostly windsurfing experience.  I was a bit nervous about going out most of the time.  Now I have developed rigging routines which make it (nearly) automatic and reliable.  It's a great feeling.

A couple of more years gaining chops on inland lakes, then I hope to find a retirement boat that could be if not a live aboard, a stay aboard sort of boat.  Sailing the Suncat makes me appreciate certain things--stability, reliability, closeness to the elements--and realize that I am uninterested in others--speed and ocean-crossing capabilities. 

Other than a slight but manageable reluctance to weather, it's a truly fine boat.

Bob23

Congratulations Renae!!
   It sounds like you and your boat are getting well acquainted with each other! In the past, I've tried to track my sailing hours and days and then fell into forgetfulness and just tried to enjoy each hour on the water.