a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Basic questions from "newbie"

Started by Byron of Bedford, February 27, 2019, 06:51:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Byron of Bedford

First, "THANKS" I so appreciate this forum and the generosity of folks sharing ideas and and experience!

I'm new to cat boats and Compac. Just bought a 2011 Sun Cat. Have yet to get in water. I'm getting her ready now.
Question 1) Opinions on 3 vs 6 gallon gas tank? 3 looks a lot more manageable. Can't find  6 that will fit but saw a comment on the forum saying he had one. Recommendations? Also, how do you run the fuel line? How long does line need to be?

Question 2: Anyone actually weighted a Sun Cat on a Magic Tilt trailer? I am planning on pulling mine with a Kia Sorento AWD that has towing capacity of 2,000 lbs. Using spec sheets I'm at 1,920 with boat motor trailer and battery. Getting pretty close to my Kia's capacity.

Question 3: Battery advice? Looking at Interstate 35 amp hr battery that is deep cycle, AGM, small and light, only weighs  about 25 pounds. Costs $90 on Amazon. Other consideration is a jump starter gizmo from Habor Freight. Only 14 amp hours. Costs about $40 on sale. All I'm running are lights. A Sonarphone fish finder for depth info, a fan and cabin light. I plan to spend a few nights at a time on the boat.

Question 4: This one is really bone head but how do you secure bumpers to the boat while at dock. I think the only cleats are 2 aft and one on the foredeck in the center.

Question: 5 I'm guessing no one uses a Windex wind indicator and I assume it's because of the gaff rigging. Is that right?

Question 6 I will probably add a cockpit reefing system. Have read many threads on approaches. Is there a kit of some kind? Do you tap holes and use screws or rivet? Is there a YouTube on this somewhere? I'm kind of lost.