a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

How fast can a Sun Cat sail

Started by Peter Dubé, October 26, 2015, 09:21:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peter Dubé

I am new to my Sun Cat.  Getting used to her and her to me ...

Just wondering how fast you can sail them.  I got mine going pretty good the other day.  Set a personal speed record. 

Compac Sun Cat
s/v Sun Daze
Vero Beach  FL

Catawampus

Did you push her over a cliff?  Hull speed is 5.3 knots which converts to 6.1 mph.  I've seen 5.5 knots in 15 knot winds (or 6.3 mph). Didn't think I would ever see over 6 knots. (6.2 knots is 7.1 mph)
Of course, I sail on an inland lake. A displacement boat can easily exceed her hull speed when she is surfing. A condition that I'm not likely to see.

Peter Dubé

Wind forecast was calling for 10 to 15, I suspect it was blowing harder. I was in the ICW, no waves, slight chop. Broad reaching, full sail. I also did not expect to see speeds like this on a small cat boat.

I was fun!. I got home quickly!

Peter
Compac Sun Cat
s/v Sun Daze
Vero Beach  FL

nicktulloh

Craig

Since it is a GPS speed reading the SOG could easily be 7.1 if the current was favorable. Fun isn't it? By the way it is a myth that catboats are "slow". They may be under-canvassed in really light air but when the wind pipes up on a reach or a run they can be quite fast. The fishing boats they are derived from could not be garbage scows. The fishermen needed to get their catch to market ASAP. The old timers also often flew a jib under really light conditions. If you look at current modern hulls you will see that that they share some  characteristics with catboat hulls........Lots of beam, flatish hull form carried well aft and plumb bows. ;D
Craig, Horizon Cat "Kailani"  Punta Gorda, FL

hoddinr

That's funny!  I also got my SunCat up to 7.1 MPH this past weekend!