Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Keeping warm in the fall

Started by MOlson, September 16, 2015, 09:35:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MOlson

Hey everyone,

I sail out of Westerly, RI and Point Judith and love sailing in the fall. Now with my CP 19/3 I'm looking forward to some overnighters: Long Island, Block Island, Newport etc.
I'd love suggestions for keeping the cabin warm at night....not 100 degrees...but 65 or so would be terrific.

Thanks,
Mark O

MKBLK

Hi Mark,

I'm no expert, but I kept nice and cozy in an igloo I built in my front yard by burning a candle! I would think that a votive candle in an appropriate enclosure would keep the chill off 'till you fall asleep. If one isn't enough, light up another. Of course if nature calls at 3 am, you might prefer a larger candle! Get one in the large glass jar and don't forget to secure it. Remember to leave something open for oxygen. I do carry a candle (and fire extinguisher!) in Pegasus... just in case!

Marty K.
81 CP16 Pegasus

P.S. Labrador Retrievers are very good at keeping people warm!
"...when you're on your deathbed, you don't regret the things you did, you regret what you didn't do."  Randy Pausch

Elk River

Mark:

On another boat with an alcohol stove, we used to heat the cabin with a clay flowerpot placed upside down over a burner.  We didn't let it go all night as once the cabin is warm, one is all set until the morning when you can again heat the cabin with the burner/flowerpot arrangement.   We haven't done that yet with our 19/2, but will probably try if we are out in the cool some evening.

Elk River
Now the Mrs. Elk

NateD

If you do some searching you can find a number of threads on the topic:

http://cpyoa.geekworkshosting.com/forum/index.php?topic=5585.0
http://cpyoa.geekworkshosting.com/forum/index.php?topic=7200.0
http://cpyoa.geekworkshosting.com/forum/index.php?topic=5916.0