News:

Howdy, Com-Pac'ers!
Hope you'll find the Forum to be both a good resource and
a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Replacing Electrical panel in 1995 CP19...HELP!

Started by mayrel, May 26, 2015, 06:35:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mayrel

I decided to replace the electrical panel on our 95' CP19.  Let me preface this, I'm not an electrician, partially color blind and wear bifocals, so I'm nearly blind too!  But thinking we have one battery, navigation, cabin and steaming light, how difficult can this be?  So I purchased a breaker type panel that lights up when you turn a switch on.  It has a + and - pole with a single ring connection to each bar, one on either side. Then there are four male spade connections down the middle; looks really simple.  When I pulled the panel off I found the wiring very confusing.  For example, black ground from battery becomes green.  Red positive from battery remains red.  Yellow is cabin light, Blue is mast head light and Green is red/green bow light/white stern light. This is based on the owners manual wiring schematic.  Based on this I "think" I can connect the hot lead(red) from the battery to the positive terminal on the new panel, the green(ground)from the existing wiring harness to the negative terminal on the new panel, then connect the blue and yellow to the new panel center terminals for the switches.  Here's my confusion.  There isn't a separate ground from the battery to the existing panel.  The ground wire is black off the battery, then there is a white wire to the stern light and bow navigation lights.  Then from the bow lights it returns to the panel as a green wire.  Shouldn't there be a separate black ground from the battery to the panel?  Looks like I should run a black wire from the battery to the negative terminal on the new panel and the existing green wire to one of the center male spade connectors.