a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Repairing Transom Cracks Advise Needed

Started by Vectordirector, May 26, 2013, 03:47:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vectordirector

Pulling Strings is out of storage and I've decided to deal with the transom cracks.  Previous owner put green stuff on. Unsightly!!
>:( Before: [url][/url]

After grinding away the green stuff with a dremel: 
:'([url][/url]

][URL=http://s1112.photobucket.com/user/bhobgood1/media/transom3.jpg.html][/url]

The first one, along the starboard side is not too deep, maybe 1/4", the one along the bottom is worse, about 1/2" to 3/4" inches deep.  They are both about 1/4" wide.  I bought some marine-tex at West, is this enough to patch this or do I need to use something more "involved" like 105/205 and then gelcoat?  I've never done anything like this before but have been watching videos on youtube, doesn't look too difficult.  I would like these areas to basically disappear from 5 feet or so.  Perfection isn't necessary, just something I won't need to redo every year.  Thanks in advance for any help. 

Vectordirector
2005 Eclipse #23  Sold

MacGyver

Vector,
Can you see through to the inside?
If not,
Lower the front of the boat as low as it can go to aid you in the repair.
use 105/205 in its own mixture to begin with. Also buy some syringes (preferably West System, as they will handle the epoxy....)
syringe it into that crack......do not fill the crack completely.
Mix 404 (West System filler) into the mix, then syringe it into the crack to finish filling it out.
Use 2 inch tape to cover the seam to allow that filler to stay where it is needed.
Next day, sand smooth,  and sand the lip edge. Prime with Interlux 2000 White, or Epoxy Primekote 404.
Sand the primer and paint with Brightsides paint.

This will protect that edge well for you. And it will protect the Epoxy from UV issues.