a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

No More Fouled Sheets

Started by EclipseGuy, September 25, 2012, 08:53:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EclipseGuy

The Masttender system is an amazing thing when rigging the Eclipse, but it sure is irritating when tacking through the wind. My headsail sheets often get fouled on the various fittings at the mast hinge.

I have studied what other people have done to prevent this, and I thought about making some sort of boot to cover up the hinge parts and pins. I am not very good at sewing, and I was afraid my hinge boot would end up looking sloppy, and probably not fit well, and in the end my sheets would still get caught on it.

I decided to take a different approach. I thought that keeping the sheets away from the hinge area altogether should work, so I decided to add a couple of pad-eyes to do just that.

I added a nice looking, stainless steel pad-eye to the coach roof just forward of the hatch, I then added a pad-eye to the mast, 6 feet up from the coach roof (where I could reach it). My goal is to run the spinnaker halyard through the mast pad-eye, then over to the coach roof pad eye. Currently I just have a short runner instead of a line that is actually long enough to act as a spinnaker halyard, so I tested my theory by just tying a line between the two pad-eyes for now.

Over the weekend we had everything from light winds to the gustiest blows I have ever sailed the Eclipse in. After 3 days of sailing I did not have a single snag when tacking! I think this is the solution I was looking for!

Here is a picture if how I tied a line between the two pad-eyes:

- John

'Dragonfly' 2009 Com-Pac Eclipse

EclipseGuy

I should also mention that while the line is in place between the pad-eyes, I can still open my hatch without issue.

- John

chas5131

Good idea. 
Good looking boat.

Glenn Basore