a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Outboard Motor Purchase Online?

Started by gfspencer, May 16, 2012, 02:40:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gfspencer

Has anyone ever purchased an outboard from OnlineOutboards or OutboardSales?  The two websites have the same physical address in Tennessee.  That seems odd.

Is there another online place that you would recommend?

wes

Suggest you call Defender. Although they don't list the prices in their catalog or on the web site, they are a huge distributor of outboards and will probably give you competitive prices. They are a very reputable company with great customer service. I have been buying from them for several years, both standard and special order items, and have never been disappointed. An outboard is a big purchase, and I would be willing to pay a little more for a company that will stand behind the product and promptly correct any shipping or warranty issues that might come up.

I think of Defender as being similar to Amazon - not the absolute cheapest price available on the internet, but way cheaper than retail stores with excellent service to boot.

Wes
"Sophie", 1988 CP 27/2 #74
"Bella", 1988 CP 19/3 #453
Bath, North Carolina

SpeakEasy

Shipping costs would have to be a nightmare on an outboard.

-Speak

wes

I'll bet that's true if you're ordering the 350 HP Yamaha I was looking at in the local boat store last week :). Sailboat motor not so much - ships by truck, not UPS.
"Sophie", 1988 CP 27/2 #74
"Bella", 1988 CP 19/3 #453
Bath, North Carolina

rdcvsmith

I purchased mine from Defender, but being that I also live here in CT with Defender I had to pay my due percentage to my state government ...... You out of state guys don't have to pay sales tax! ...this might off set some of the shipping costs

-Ray

skip1930