a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Drain holes and water in the hull

Started by jayhawker, September 26, 2011, 10:23:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jayhawker

I am new to sailing and just bought a picnic cat three weeks ago.  I don't have all the sailing language correct but I have several questions.  In the manual it says to leave the drain holes open while sailing and I think at dock.  We have a small electric motor in back and two marine batteries.  The boat takes on water while sailing and in dock if drain plugs are not in place.  Yesterday we had a rainstorm and 5 gallons of water accumulated in cockpit.  I tried to drain but only more water came in so I used bailed and toweled to empty.  It is raining again and I know the boat is filling again.  Any suggestions??  Also during the rain the side bilge took on about 3 gallons of water even though the seat was closed and locked.  Did not know this would happen. The front and other side bilge did not take on water.  Help!!!! I appreciate your responses. Jayhawker.

CaptRon28

I don't have a Picnic Cat but these general suggestions should help -

I'm assuming that these drain holes are all supposed to be above the normal water line. My Horizon has 4 drain holes at two heights (cockpit and hull bottom) and they are always above. Move weight from the back to the front. That could mean having to relocate the two batteries, which could easily weigh over 80 pounds for the pair. Don't store anything back there - the mid-section or bow is usually a better place. When sailing or motoring, scatter the crew and passengers around the boat. You don't want everone in the stern for several reasons. Since the bilge water will probably wind up back in the stern, pump it out occasionally and possibly get a float controlled electric bilge pump.