a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Peak Halyard Attachment

Started by Galnorth, June 25, 2011, 01:54:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Galnorth

I just purchased a used sun cat and am rigging it up for the first time.  (this is my first time with a sun cat but not with a gaff rig).  When I went to rig up the peak halyard I was expecting to find a specific attachment point on the topside of the end of the gaff but there's nothing there.  The only thing on the fitting at the end of the gaff is an eye cast on the underside, which I assume is for  the outhaul for the sail.  Am I missing something or do I need to use the underside eye for both the sail peak and the peak halyard?

capt_nemo

The following comments apply to the newer Sun Cats which have the Peak Halyard rigged somewhat differently than on older boats.

Once the gaff is inserted properly in the sail track there should be a PAD EYE fastened somewhere around the MIDDLE on the TOP SIDE of the spar. One of the Peak Halyard Blocks attaches to this pad eye. One end of the Peak Halyard is tied (with bowline) to the stainless bail at the masthead. Then, the halyard comes down through the block attached to the gaff (around midpoint)  and proceeds back up through a block attached to the lower stainless bail on the mast and then down to the deck to a turning block at the base of the mast and along the cabin top to the cockpit line clutch of some kind. Mine is a Spinlock. THE PEAK HALYARD DOES NOT ATTACH TO THE END OF THE GAFF! Check your Owner's Manual for a diagram or a recent photo of a rigged Sun Cat.

I'm travelling in my Motorhome and don't have access to all my photo files. Hope this info helps.

capt_nemo
Sun Cat "Frisky"

Tim22