a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Eclipse.... First Sailboat

Started by TR2020, April 23, 2005, 08:05:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TR2020

Hello...   I am fairly new to sailing and recently purchased my first boat, a Com-Pac Eclipse.  How fortunate I was to have bought this fine vessel as my first sailboat. Although I have nothing to compare with (I had never been on a sailboat prior) my Eclipse seems to be sturdy, safe, easy to launch (20 min), and perhaps a little forgiving for a novice sailor.  I have sailed mostly on Lake Monroe (10,00 acres) in Central Florida.  My sailing time has been limited due to business travel but I hope to retire soon and do more sailing and exploring with my trailersailor.  

Best thing I bought for my boat aside from a Honda outboard is a Raymarine ST1000 tiller pilot.  This device has increased my enjoyment of sailing 100% as it allows freedom to move about, adjust sails, and get beer from the cabin cooler while underway. My next purchases will be a depth sounder, bimini top, cockpit cushions, and a better anchor.  I would like to hear from other Eclipse owners as to their choices for these items.  Also any special sailing techniques and tales of adventure encountered in your Eclipse.

Tim

Craig Weis

skip here,
TR2020 very pleased that the Com-Pac Eclipse is filling the need to sail.
I don't think a better boat can be had [no wood, just micro balloons between the layers of glass] because nothing can rot and become soft.

I sail a Com-Pac 19. The 19 was still in production when I bought my boat.
The Eclipse was only in the minds of Rich Hutchins and crew and I think overall it's a winner.

Lake Monroe, [edit your post] is it 1,000 or 10,000 acres?