a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

avoiding damage to transom from engine weight during trailering

Started by gato chateau, February 09, 2011, 08:54:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gato chateau

I'm a newbie to this boat and community and would appreciate some feedback on how others handle travel with outboard.  I purchased a Sun Cat at the Atlantic City Boat show (with standard motor bracket) and plan on having a 6 HP Tohatsu Sail Pro on the boat.  I've read about possible damage to the transom over time if one leaves motor on the boat while in transit.  As my tow vehicle is an Audi A-3 (diesel so hopefully enough torque to tow load) I won't have space for the outboard in my vehicle.  I'd rather not have to store the outboard in the cockpit as it would probably not be easy to secure.  So the other option I've heard about is securing the outboard on a bar on the trailer or a some sort of angled outboard motor support bracket that would be connected somehow to the rear bottom of the trailer frame.  As the factory trailer for the Sun Cat has a small profile I'm not sure of my options.  Would be interested in hearing how others travel with outboard.  Leave outboard on the boat's motor mount without additional support and don't worry as it's only 60 lbs?  Or, if another approach is necessary, what do folks without space in their vehicle do?  Thanks in advance for counsel!

capt_nemo

Welcome gato chateau,

To get you started on learning what others have done, go up to the Forum "Sailing your Com-Pac -Tips and Tricks" and find the post titled "Do you trailer with the motor on the outboard motor mount or not.".