a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Electric trolling motor ?

Started by CaptRon28, July 31, 2010, 10:31:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaptRon28

Anyone try to hook up an electric trolling motor on to a Horizon transom (or other Com-Pacs)? I found a nice 5 mile long reservoir about 10 miles from the house with a very good ramp and nice scenery around it. Only problem is they don't allow gas or motor power on it. A bunch of powerboats were on it today trolling around at around 2 knots. No sailboats with a motor though. You can buy a 50 pound thrust trolling package for under $200 and it would be great place for a day sail.

I knew it was there, but never realized you could boat on it. Average water depth is over 30 feet!
Ron Marcuse
2007 Horizon Cat (no name yet)
2008 Telstar 28 "Tri-Power"

Andrew

I have no experience with trolling motors but ran across this web page with some interesting stories/adventures with a ComPac 19. This guy has some real and theoretical experience he shares about trolling motors plus it's a great read.

http://sites.google.com/site/pocketyachtcruising/home

Hope you find this useful.

...a
former Com-Pac 16 owner

CaptRon28

Andrew -

Thanks for the link. It was a good read. If I do it - I'd only be using it when I occasionally sail in this nearby reservoir (or similar sites) - where gas or diesel is not allowed.  There is minimal current there and I don't think I'd have his problems unless I take it out in 20 knots. The inboard Yanmar is for everywhere else. The boat already has two deep cycle marine batteries and a charger. All I'd need is the motor itself.