a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

moving from a com-pac 19 to a com-pac27

Started by madhatter, January 12, 2005, 11:33:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

madhatter

I have been sailing a 19 for five years and thinking of moving up to a 27 the 27 is a '94 are there any problems I should know about that boat? What is a fair price for a '94 com-pac 27? What is a fair price for my 19 com-pac? Is the 27 hard to dock and sail single hand? Rich

spaul

Madhatter I moved up to a '92 , 27/2 just a year ago. It's a great boat and you'll love it. There is a little more freeboard and during docking the wind can be bothersome but I'm not having any trouble getting into a very difficult slip. In fact my wife can bring her in now as long as I'm standing there giving her comfort and support. She's just a little nervous is all.
On my boat the only problem I have is a right walking prop. I need a left walking prop to dock easier but I've developed a system that works.
I spoke with Gerry Hutchins about the 27's and his reply was he had no knowledge of any long term problems. The boat core is microballoons so you have nothing to worry about there. I'd say have a survey done, that's what I did and it was worth it.
Check the rigging if it's been is salt water, heck check it anyway. Other than that, check the prop bearing. No matter what boat, these things are only good for 5-10 years. Mine was in bad need of replacement. I can't emphasize the survey too much. Turns out my Yanmar needed a head job and some topside work. Suspect the head needs a kit too but true on any boat.
Let us know. We'd love to hear more.
Steve Paul
cp27/2
"IM PAUL SIVE"
Nashville, IN

spaul

Madhatter, I didn't answer your question on price. Be aware a new 27 will cost you $ 80,000 for the boat. Extras are extra and Hutchins only builds them on request now.