a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Lowering Mast single handed

Started by Deb, May 22, 2009, 09:08:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deb

Howdy Y'all, Been having a great time!!!  But often I need to lower the mast myself and can't always count on a good bystander to help.  I've read all the posts throughout and haven't found the easiest way to lower her yet.  I can get her up fine by myself.  It's the lowering thats the problem to do alone.
Who's got the best system?  I've been looking online too.
Deb

Steve Ullrich

Hi Deb - Just lowered mine myself last Monday.  I bought a 1989 Com-Pac 16 just about a month ago.  I've been sailing for many years on larger keel boats that were virtually impossible to step a mast on alone so I was apprehensive about the 16.  I was actually pretty surprised at how easy it was to step and un-step alone.  I'm using my jib halyard both ways, I suspect pretty much everyone else is too.  My jib halyard is really a bit too long but that turned out to be a good thing.  I had it tied off to the fordeck horn cleat and running through a sheeve at the base of the mast to the horn cleat on the port coach roof.  I had one wrap around the horn.  Coming down I was able to ease the mast down pretty easily by just letting the halyard slide around the cleat a little at a time while guiding it down with my right hand.  I kept a load on the halyard until I had the mast well under control, which didn't take too long at all.  Got to tell you, I was delighted that it was as easy as I had hoped.  I'm near sixty now and having some problems with my shoulders.  Wasn't sure I could do it.  Now I'm sure I'm going to have a lot of fun on area lakes this summer whether or not I have a crew. 
Steve Ullrich, Savage, MN
1988 Com-Pac 16/III - Teacher's Pet

mikew