Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Mast Hardware Identification and Purpose

Started by elibobeli, September 17, 2008, 11:08:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

elibobeli

Eclipse Owners,

Just below the mast hinge are SS brackets in the shape of a "7" on each side of the mast with the aft portion of the "7" slightly back from the back of the mast.  They are in alignment with each other on each side of the mast.  Nothing is hooked to them and they don't move.  They were factory installed, standard equipment.  While studying the hinge area, it occurred to me that I haven't a clue what these brackets are for.  Can anyone help?

Craig Weis

I'd like to help here but I have no knowledge as to the purpose of these '7' shaped brackets. skip.

Glenn Basore

I have an Eclipse (2006) but I don't recognize what you are describing.

There are two pivot pins that should be in place to raise the mast. they have a pivot arm and spring so that when you push them through the pivot hole they turn 90 degrees to lock them in place. that would give you a 7 appearance I guess.

These two pins are removeable and are a critical part of raising / lowering the mast as they hold the mast in place to pivot. without them the mast would fall !

Could this be what you are trying to describe ?

Glenn B.

elibobeli

Maybe they added them to the mast on the later Eclipse.  They are below the hinge pins you are describing, Glenn, and have nothing to do with rigging the boat unless it has a passive purpose.  From top screw to bottom screw holding the brackets to the mast is about 3".  They maybe extend aft about 1.5".  I know picture is worth a thousand words, but thought I would go with the description first.

And Skip, your Eclipse has them? 

Glenn Basore

When I got home I looked at my Eclipse, yes I do have the 7 brackets on the mast just below the hing point.