a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

rigging. how do i keep boom up when sail down

Started by jgalaxie, August 18, 2008, 11:05:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jgalaxie

hi, just got my 16.  grew up on cats and sunfish, and are a little confused on some of the rigging.  mainly keeping the boom up when sail is down, do i have to switch the one rope out every time i change.  sorry about not knowing some lingo.  + the teak rails for the cabin entrance are toast, can i use oak for now, if not, where would i find these parts?  thank you all for this great site and any help.  p.s.  i'm in orlando

Deb

Hi Jgalaxie
I'm a newbie too but am learning alot here. 
I use a sail stop under the gooseneck to hold the boom up before I get the mainsail up then adjust as needed.
Deb

romei

I have a sail stop on the mast and a topping lift on the end of the boom.  A topping lift is a line that goes from the aft end of the boom to the top of the mast.  My topping lift is currently a thin 1/4" rope.  I was going to eventually ask in here if it would be okay for me to replace that with 3/16" coated cable, so now is as good a time as any for that question I guess.

On mine, when the sail is down and the topping lift is supporting the weight of the boom, the boom is typically about 2 or 3 inches lower than it is when I have the sail up.  When I raise the sail, it releases the tension on the topping lift and the topping lift becomes slack allowing the main sail to stiffen up and take the weight of the boom.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Topping_lift
Blog Site: http://www.ronmeinsler.com/cantina

"Land was created to provide a place for boats to visit."
-Brooks Atkinson

doug