a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Toe rails

Started by DaveG405, June 08, 2019, 09:43:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DaveG405

Newbie here.  Just downsized to a 2005 Sun Cat.  I like it very much overall, but I find the nonskid deck surfaces to be quite slippery, and I find myself missing the toe rails I had on my last boat, especially since the SC has neither lifelines nor a bow rail.  I know room is limited on deck, but has anyone considered, or successfully accomplished, installation of toe rails on a Sun Cat?

Zephyros

My non-skid is not slippery on my 2007. It sounds more like the previous owner waxed the non-skid or treated it with something like Star Brite Non-Skid cleaner, which has PTFE and will be slippery if not rinsed off right after application.

Before going to toerails try stripping your non-skid with dawn dishwashing soap (it removes wax so watch your other areas on the boat you don't want the wax removed) or try a hull cleaner which generally will strip wax, but they differ so check first.

bruce

I agree with Tom. I addition to detergents, any nonpolar solvent, such as naphtha or mineral spirits, will remove wax safely. Some people use acetone, but it is not a good dewaxer. Check the cleanliness by splashing water on the cleaned surface, if it beads up there's still wax or oil on there.

If the molded nonskid is still too slippery, I'd try adhesive-backed nonskid tape in critical areas long before I'd try to install a toerail. Easily trimmed so you can lay it out in an acceptable pattern, and it comes in some colors. Some tapes may even be too aggressive. If after a couple of seasons it begins to lift, remove it with nonpolar solvents, and maybe a little heat, and reinstall. No potential for leaks.
Bruce
Aroo, PC 308
Narragansett Bay, RI

DaveG405