Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

New Owner! First question!

Started by Steve Cornacchia, April 03, 2019, 11:34:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Steve Cornacchia

Hi Everyone,

I just bought a 2015 Eclipse (#74). Drove down from Maryland to St. Petersburg and trailered it up this weekend. 2000 miles in 3 days. Any questions on trailering, I'm your guy lol.

You are probably all going to be sick of me in the next few weeks - with all my questions. I am a slight noob sailor. Had a 30 foot Pearson for a couple of years but was way to big for me to single-hand comfortably.

My first question - and I have seen some talk on this but hoping someone could sum it up for me. I will be keeping my boat in the water during the season here on the Chesapeake. It only has a manual bilge pump. It seems people recommend I install two automatic bilge pumps for peace of mind and redundancy. Questions are: any recommendation on the right bilge pumps to us. And where have you installed these on the Eclipse?

Thank you!

Steve

alsantini

Steve.  Someone might disagree but I do not think you need any more than the manual pump.  Boats with transoms and drains that can plug up and flood the boat in storms, sinking it.  These boats NEED bilge pumps.  However with the open transom it is virtually impossible to flood the Eclipse.  Rain, snow, sleet, sandwiches, beer or whatever winds up on the cockpit floor will gently roll out the back of the boat.  No muss, no fuss.  Off The Wind spends summers in a slip in Northern Illinois.  Even the severest flood 2 years ago did nothing.  I usually pump the bilge a couple of times a year to keep the pump moving but have yet to have any water.
Where will you sail?