a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Weather helm

Started by Bub, February 16, 2019, 11:41:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bub

After two sails with the SunDay Cat, my first Cat Rig experience I understand why there is so much discussion about how to deal with excessive weather helm by adjusting the centerboard up until the helm is balanced. But does the rudder angle require attention? I read it needed to be vertical and not allowed to ride up.. But would it also help if you rotate the rudder to the same angle as the stern and lock it down on that same reverse angle, toward the bow from the vertical position?

Bob23

What's up Bub?
  I have no experience with the SunCats (yet) but I cured the weather helm on my 1985 23 by doing exactly what you propose. I modified the rudder blade and installed a hold down bracket which sets the blade forward of plumb and it made a world of difference. Actually, a bit too much of a world, as I new have a neutral helm, which is not good. This year I'll tweak the mast back a degree to introduce some weather helm back in. Last year, she wandered a bit, took a bit of attention to keep her sailing in a straight line.
  There are lots of experienced SunCat guys here who will chime in, no doubt.
Bob23

Bub

Thank you. Especially the warning that it's possible to overdo it.
I'm thinking if that happens, the quick cure would be to lower the CB incrementally until the sweet spot is located. Think I'll try that in light/moderate air. But do you think there is any downside to that experiment?

Bob23

Bub: