a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Buying a CP-19

Started by n.gorsuch, November 20, 2006, 08:26:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

n.gorsuch

Hello, I'm new here and thinking of buying a CP-19.
What would be a good price for a boat around 10 years old, and what sould I look out for when buying?

pelican

I am not an expert, but price depends on condition and location demand.

Replacement sails can cost 1500.00
replacement trailer               1500.00
Replacement motor               1500.00

Check overall condition for neglect
Check for hull and keel damage
Check for bent mast, boom and related hardware
Check for interior leaks around top cap ,rub rail joint
Check for bad standing rigging. (meat hooks)
Check for rotten Lines ropes
Check for broken blocks ( pulleys)
Check for leaks around portholes.
Check for tight rails- lifelines
Look for water /rain stains in interior
Look for rotten wood around interior
Check battery,fuse block switches for corrision.

The list could go on. Most importantly, get someone who knows boats to look at your future purchase before you buy.

The good : These are very well made boats. My 19 is a 1982 and has many sailing miles on her including several Florida - Bahama crossings made by the first owner. They are simply a high quality boat squeezed into a small package. They sail well and are forgiving of mistakes.

Good sailing

pelican

PS I see decent C19 selling in our area for $ 4000.00 to $8000.00

n.gorsuch

thanks pelican,
how much weather can this small ship handle? is it really a safe off-shore boat?
and where do I find a accessories such as sun shades, mast lowering systems etc.etc.?

pelican

They are not classed as a blue water boat but they handle rough weather well for the size. It gets to the point where the bouncing around gets uncomfortable in a small boat.