a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Double ended mainsheet advice needed

Started by Ed Stockman, March 23, 2016, 07:31:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ed Stockman

Last season (2015), I bought a 2012 Sun Cat. The mainsheet is double ended. I have some experience sailing cat-rigged boats but am not accustomed to the double ended mainsheet configuration. I sail on lakes in New England where squirrelly, gusty winds often require me to dump air by letting the sail out.
I like the idea of moving the mainsheet away from the companionway entrance to the stern area but during my brief sailing at the end of last summer I never felt comfortable sailing her.
I need advice sailing a double ended mainsheet.  Any and all advice will be helpful.  The line is very long and letting it out takes more time than I'm comfortable giving under certain wind conditions.

Craig Weis

"  I have some experience sailing cat-rigged boats but am not accustomed to the double ended mainsheet configuration. "

I can't visualize what this configuration really is.

I'm no help.

This was again posted at 11:05 on Sun Cats and earlier on General Announcements. ...

Ed Stockman
Swabbie

Good Karma Bad Karma

View Profile  Personal Message (Online)

Double-ended mainsheet advice needed
? on: Today at 11:05:38 ?
Reply with quoteQuote
Last season (2015), I bought a 2012 Sun Cat. The mainsheet is double ended. I have some experience sailing cat-rigged boats but am not accustomed to the double ended mainsheet configuration. I sail on lakes in New England where squirrelly, gusty winds often require me to dump air by letting the sail out.
I like the idea of moving the mainsheet away from the companionway entrance to the stern area but during my brief sailing at the end of last summer I never felt comfortable sailing her.