a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Mainsheet rigging

Started by Peapod, September 17, 2015, 06:38:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peapod

I'm pretty new to the SunCat, just getting to know her.  The more I learn, the more fun it is.  Sail trim,  especially, is satisfying once you get some feel for it.  But now I have a question I'd rather not solve by trial and error, if you generous sailors can help out.

My mainsheet is rigged at the boom end.  I noticed that the former owner did not even run the sheet up and down the maximum number of times, and I don't feel like I need any more mechanical advantage.  My problem is, the sheet is often in the way of the tiller, the tiller extension, tiller tamer, the rudder lifter, and my two left feet.  So, I've been considering moving it up to mid-boom with a traveler on the bridge deck.

Can you tell me what advantages and disadvantages there are to end-boom vs mid-boom sheeting on the Sun Cat?  Are there other options, as well?

Thanks,

Eric

p.s., Warning: the more useful answers I get, the more questions I'll post, and you'll never get rid of me!  I have a list, but I think I should post them one at a time.

frank

Mid boom has better sail shape both beating and reaching...but is at times a bit in the way in/out of companion way.

Aft boom leave the cockpit more open.

had both...prefer mid
Small boats: God's gift to young boys and older men

rogerschwake