a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

One thing puzzels me

Started by BellaCat, May 07, 2015, 02:39:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BellaCat

I am new to sailing and own a Sun Cat 17 . One thing puzzels me, in light air (but have also noticed in wind 10-15) while tacking both to port and starboard as the boom crosses and I straighten the rudder the boat continues to turn away, even if I push the helm all the way over it continues to turn away. Only way I found to stop it and turn back up is to let the sheet almost all the way out. That stops the turn then as I pull in on the sheet and the sail picks up the air, I have proper helm. My guess is that it has something to do with the depth of the keel. I have tried different elevations of the keel and have noticed some improvement but still have not solved the problem. Typically sailing in a river so there is some current, upwind and down river.
Will be interested in reading your opinions.

rbh1515

When you are sailing close to the wind, how far in do you have the sail trimmed.  On sloops the main is sheeted in close to the midline, but on a cat the sail is trimmed more like a jib/Jenny...so it is further out.  Maybe this is the problem?
Rob
2015 Horizon Day Cat, Waters End

Craig