a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

CP16 rudder modifications...

Started by mayrel, February 17, 2015, 09:41:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mayrel

We just purchased an 83' CP16 completely reconditioned, but stock.  I know the subject of rudders has been extensively explored on this forum.  Most have decided to purchase the upgraded rudder blade and report amazing results; specifically less weather helm.  I'm not an engineer so I can't speak to weather helm in terms of what causes it and how to eliminate/reduce this effect.  Looking at the upgraded rudder blade, it seems deeper and slightly wider.  Obviously it has to be to fit over the existing rudder blade.  The cost for this foiled rudder is $295 plus shipping, and it may well be a good investment?  However, I can't help but ask a simple question.  If you had a new rudder blade cut from aluminum which was slightly deeper and wider, wouldn't this improve the weather helm issue?  And if you filed the leading/trailing edges to make them somewhat rounded, wouldn't this also help?  I ask these questions based on my limited experience with a sailing kayak I put together.  I modified the stock rudder blade by simply making it slightly deeper and wider, it did make a huge difference in handling/performance.  This is why I wanted to ask the question, if a foiled rudder blade deeper and wider helps, then surely a deeper and wider simple aluminum blade can't hurt?  It might be a little less expensive too?  I did see one of these rudders for sale in the classified section.  I wonder why?  Early thanks for any input.

Craig