Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Out board motor help?

Started by Glenn Basore, July 14, 2013, 10:05:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Glenn Basore

Hi all,

I think I need to replace the impeller ( water pump ?) on my 2005 Mercury four stroke / 4 horse power. The water discharge flow has seem to diminished compared to its usual flow.  Some times it's stops for a few seconds before the water flow starts up again, this is usually at idel. At run speeds, the flow is there, just not as strong as before.

I sail in salt water, I don't know if the water passeges have become clogged with the salt, is there an additive  I can use to flush the passages?  I do flush immediately after pulling the boat out of the water.

Is changing the impeller a difficult job?  I've never worked on an outboard before other than changing plug and filt.

Cost of impeller vs having it done?

Glenn

Shawn

Glenn,

Last fall I changed out the impeller on my Tohatsu Sailpro. It is an easy job. The impeller costs $19 at Defender.

In a nutshell you basically are removing the lower unit from the outboard and that exposes the impeller.

An example is at:
http://casterbaiter.com/how-to-install-nissan-tohatsu-outboard-engine-water-pump-impeller-step-by-step-guide/

On the Sailpro there is a large rubber disc on the side of the leg near the lower unit. That comes off and it exposes the gear shift linkage. You have to loosen that bolt to allow the shifter to disengage. Then it is just removing the bolts that hold the lower unit on and then taking the cover off the impeller housing. Then you  swap out the impeller (watch for the pin) and reassemble. Maybe took an hour or two.

Shawn

Glenn Basore

Thanks Shawn,

I think I will try doing the work my self after reading your reply and link to read.

Glenn

ssullivan