a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Picked up a CP19 with serious issues

Started by lochinvar, February 25, 2013, 03:36:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lochinvar

I have picked up a CP19 here in the Pacific NW. Actually, I have had it about 6mos, but my work (I am a field engineer for Raytheon) requires that I travel. So here is the "before" pics of the issues.

The PO decided that he wanted to "fix" the site of a dock impact. I am sure that it put spider stress-cracks in the deck top, but I'll never know; he cut out a 38in section of the deck with an angle grinder:

The insides were left as he had finished with them:

MacGyver

OUCH
luckily that wont be a hard fix. He did cut that line decent enough.

I would start by removing that Genoa Track, get it out of the way.....
Bevel your edge back on the top for glass tie in.
Then get some good tape, masking tape, and tape your profile from the inside
As another option, you could get heavy Mil plastic and make the form as best you can from the inside and duct tape the edges so you can start.

Fill in as you can, glassing it all over till you have remade the corner, then sand to a profile and use a Plastream batten to get the curvature back as it can act like a bendable straight edge.

The plastic underneath can be pulled away from the set glass construction with ease, leaving a nice smooth surface inside.

The top will have to be worked with a bit, but it will come together.

Too bad you dont have the old piece...... some people think you have to hack it all out....... by the looks of the lip and all that, he went way overboard.......

ALSO, back by the genoa track, you would be better off squaring up that corner and coming up that lip edge.....
If you have a top down pic showing it I will gladly trace out where I would cut to make the repairs easier......

Mac