a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Boom on Horizon Cat

Started by Subsailor637, May 21, 2013, 02:53:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Subsailor637

Just took delivery of a brand new Horizon Cat.  Thought I had researched these boats enough to know the ins and outs but apparently not.  I have had a couple of 30 to 34 ft Catalina's in the past so I am used to the boom being attached to the mast via a gooseneck.  This doesn't seem to be the case with the Horizon Cat; the boom floats freely not fixed to one position.  Am I missing something or is this correct?  Just seems weird to me.  Also, seem to be having a hard time lowering the throat end of the gaff/sail.  Peak drops fine but luff and gaff seem to hang up.  What am I doing wrong.  After sailing for 40+ years I'm a newbie again!
2013 ComPac Horizon Cat DOLPHIN
Punta Gorda FL

Salty19

I can't answer your question, but bet there is information in the manual that pertains to this issue
"Island Time" 1998 Com-pac 19XL # 603

Subsailor637

The manual, what passes for one, doesn't even show any diagrams of attachment points etc.  I'm sure a fellow Horizon owner can straighten me out
Punta Gorda FL

Mokey7

The boom does "float" but should be restained by a downhaul to maximize sail shape. When raising and lowering the sails, you want to keep the gaff level with the boom. If you don't, it will bind. I have a Picnic Cat, but the setup is relatively the same. I'm sure more informed people will respond with better information =)

Subsailor637

Thanks Mokey7.  All info is helpful.  That floating boom will take some getting used to.
Punta Gorda FL

Craig