a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Seeking jib size advice from NC coastal sailors

Started by wes, May 20, 2012, 09:08:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wes

Hi NC sailors: My 155% genoa has been great for lake sailng (Jordan) but lately we've ventured out to Oriental and the Neuse River area and I'm way overpowered. I have to furl up quite a bit onto the CDI roller furler to survive. Thinking of having National Sail make me a smaller foresail for these trips. I Have no experience with any other foresail on the CP 19, and wondering if any of you have suggestions for this boat in these winds. Standard working jib? 110 genoa? 135? Inquiring minds want to know.

Wes
"Sophie", 1988 CP 27/2 #74
"Bella", 1988 CP 19/3 #453
Bath, North Carolina

Salty19

Wes, I'm not sure what type of winds you're talking about.

I use a 110, 140 and now a 170 drifter in the little lake we use. Winds can be strong or they can be non-existent. each day brings new weather.  When conditions are challenging, say wind forecast from 15-30 knots (which means gusting to 30, sustained 15), the 110% goes up every time. It's a tad too much when the winds are gusting around 30, but in that case we furl it up a bit to reduce sail or I ease the sheets for the gust. Or just ride it out for the gust.   

Still safe at this point, assuming one reef in the main, but wouldn't be too comfortable on an all day sail in those conditions. I figure if conditions gets worse than this, I'll just motor back and go home, or just use the main (which doesn't point as well alone) so no storm sail.

I would suggest asking around a bit locally to see what other sailors are running, keeping in mind your audience.  Racers will always carry more than cruisers will.