a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Transomeless Sailboats

Started by Gil Weiss, August 05, 2004, 01:06:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gil Weiss

Other than a day sail in a Hunter 17.5, I have no experience with transomeless boats. My wife and I saw the Eclipse last February at the Atlantic City Boat Show. It was very well built and really a nice boat as are all Compacs.

My question is how is a transomeless boat in a following sea, etc? I know that any water coming in should run right out, but is this type of design viable and/or comfortable in a small boat? Interestngly enough too, it seemed that getting to the outboard is easier in my CP16 that the Eclipse.

Sapoznik

Gil,

Well, in a few weeks I'll let you know.  If things work out, next week I'm picking up an Eclipse I ordered back in Feb. (7 Mo. delivery!).  I have some misgivings about the open transom also, but the appearance, size, features, and overall workmanship I saw swayed me to take the chance.  I understand that Hutchins has sold ~24 or so Eclipses which is considered a successful launch of a new model in the business/niche they're operating in.  I've heard different renditions of where the Eclipse fits into the Hutchins lineup.  Particularly, is it going to replace the 19 or not?  I don't know.  It's been awhile, but it seems I remember that the stern of the Eclipse rode fairly high above the water surface, so one isn't as exposed as it may first appear.  We'll see.  I spoke with one of the owners (can't remember which one) and he indicated that they may produce some type of insertable/removable transom in the future to allay concerns.  Frankly, it may be premature, but the option I'm looking forward to is a bimini of some type.

Gil Weiss