a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Compression Post-advice please

Started by R2, December 02, 2011, 08:28:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

R2

R2, just purchased a 1978 Com-Pac. The old concrete was taken out, new wood,post etc. I noticed that the new compression post does not go all the way to the top of the underside of the deck, there is a 1/4 inch or so of space. Do I put a shim under the deck, and can I drill the tabernacle bracket to the compression post, or do I leave it like it is. Ideas please, thank you! Rich/Ruth

RCAN

I'm not an expert, but I do own a 1976 Com Pac. It is my understanding that the mast will exert much pressure downward as well as sideways when you are under sail. My boat does not have any space above the compression post. It is wedged in there right up against the underside of the decking.

From other discussions in this site I have learned that the tabernacles were originally screwed into the deck without nuts on the under side so that, in case of a demasting, minimal damage will be done to the deck and repairs will involve only filling the holes and screwing the screws back in place.

I'm sure others will give you their input as well. Hope my input helps.

Robert

deisher6

Hey R2:
On an '89, the compression post goes all the way to the underside of the deck, but it does not go all the way to the bottom of the boat.  It is secured on the bottom on the bulkhead at the end of the bunks.  I would shim the top.  I was dismasted the first time out this summer and repairing the mast step was pretty simple because the mast step bracket was not thru bolted.  I would recommend leaving it  the way it was designed.

Enjoy your Com-Pac.

regards charlie

skip1930

Is this a CP-19? Just guessing.