Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Gaff Rig Gooseneck Height

Started by dlane83, October 31, 2011, 10:31:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dlane83

Hello everyone,

I just signed up for this forum since I am considering the purchase of a catboat and the Com-Pac cats have a lot of useful variations to the traditional cat.  Besides the functionality of a catboat, I personally like the look of these boats which leads me to my question,

After looking at a number of different catboats, there is something about the look of the gaff rigged sail on the Com-Pac cats that didn't seem quite right to me.  My conclusion is that it is the height and orientation of the boom.  The booms on Horizon cats are higher off the deck at the mast and the booms are horizontal which requires the gooseneck to be higher than on more traditional cats.  Although I have no experience with the Com-Pac gaff rig, from what I have read on this user group site, it appears the gooseneck slides up and down the mast in the sail slide slot and can be positioned pretty much anywhere including above the Mastendr hinge.  It appears the intent when raising the sail is to raise the boom up to the mast hinge and then use the downhaul after the sail is up if the luff needs tightening  This adjustment would be similar to using a cunningham on a sloop.  Again from what I have read, it appears there is a pin on the hinge assembly that prevents the gooseneck from being raised above the hinge.