News:

Howdy, Com-Pac'ers!
Hope you'll find the Forum to be both a good resource and
a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Why did you choose the Sun Cat over all the other Com-Pac trailerables?

Started by esterhazyinoz, November 14, 2010, 08:47:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

esterhazyinoz

Hi,
I am a newbie to this site who is undertaking some research on what my next boat will be.  I am very drawn to both the cats and the sloops in the trailerable range and, from I have seen so far, I'd be surprised if a Com-Pac is not my next boat.  I have about 20 years sailing experience, on and off. I used to race an Australian designed & manufactured daysailer (similar to a Hunter 212 in the USA).  Currently I have a new Hunter 15 for sailing on our lovely Swan River but want something more substantial and with a porta potty after I retire and move across the continent to Melbourne (sailing on Port Phillip Bay, where the weather can turn bad in a blink and the Gippsland Lakes).
So far all the Com-Pacs look great to me.  I am tending to favour the cats because I will usually be sailing either with non sailors or single handed.  I figure that having only one sail allows me to handle the boat in both those situations although I don't know the details of the sloop rig (are there winches or just blocks to trim the foresail?)
Although the Horizon Cat looks great I really don't want to have the size of car necessary to tow it so I am therefore looking at the 17-19 footers.
I would love to hear from Com-Pac owners about what drove their decision to buy what they did.
Cheers from Australia

cavie