a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Trailer brakes

Started by Glenn Basore, May 08, 2010, 08:49:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Glenn Basore

Well I finally got my trailer brakes installed on my Eclipse "performance trailer".

As some of you may remember I changed my wheels from the 10" to 14 inches wheels so I had no problems adding the 10" disc brakes to my trailer.

I did have a lot of help from a neighbor (big rig Mechanic by trade)

He pointed out to me a crack in my trailer frame at the first gusset location on the starboard side which I need to get wedled. he also thinks there is too much tongue weight based upon how much flexing of the trailer which was a concern of mine on an earlier post "trailer flexing".

I'm going to the scales to have some weight measurements taken next week and get the crack welded and possibly some stiffeners added to the trailer.

based upon the scale information, I might be moving my axle forward a bit.

Thanks to all of you who gave me such good advice on adding the brakes and the links to get just what I needed. every thing I ordered was perfect!

Craig Weis

Glenn, remember that the trailer welding is going to be over galvanised hot dipped rails. So the welder just might refuse to weld the trailer because of arsenic fumes concern.
Might want to grind the area to remove the hot dip galvanize before welding.

I felt I needed more tongue weight so I slid the axle astern. Need about 200 lb at the 2" ball for my CP-19. Since I can't pick up the tongue, I figure that's enough weight. Such a weakling I am.