a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Multivariate Regression Analysis of Used Com-Pac Prices

Started by NateD, October 29, 2009, 05:54:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NateD

My background is in economics, and particularly in statistics and modeling, so any time I am thinking about a significant purchase of an item, I like to collect a little data on similar units and see what a "fair" price would be (then I try to find one for much lower than the fair price). It works particularly well when looking at used cars and figuring out whether the price should be higher or lower based on mileage and model year. I've started to day dream about a CP-23, so I started poking around Sailing Texas (http://www.sailingtexas.com/cboats99.html) to see what they have gone for in the past. I put together a little model to see what kind of price I should expect based on how old the boat is and what kind of condition it is in. For age, I used the number of years old it was at the time of the sale (Sailing Texas records when the boat was posted for sale). Condition is a qualitative thing, good condition to one person is poor condition to someone who expects high quality. So I went through and looked at the pictures of the boats and rated the condition on this scale:

0 = Not in sailing condition, missing sails/rig, or significant damage structural damage
      1 = Below average, old sails, very few upgrades or additions
      2 = Average for a boat of it's age, a few upgrades
      3 = Above average, newer sails, newer cushions, many upgrades