a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Towing with a Toyota Corolla???

Started by Mike H., September 20, 2009, 06:54:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timwp

Mike, I've been hauling mine for 2 years with a corolla. Everything seems fine, always check breaks...but other than that concentrate on the sailing stuff...much more enjoyable. Don't sweat the small stuff...and it's all small stuff.

Tim

Steve Ullrich

On the other end of the scale... I towed my 16/3 with a Ford Ranger all summer. Towing capacity 3500 lbs and though I was aware of the trailer when braking the Ranger handled the ramps and highway like there was hardly anything back there.  I think braking should be your main concern...  I don't know how it will go for you if you have to stop real fast.  Though the Ranger was doing a bang up job as a tow vehicle she was aging and the wife and I decided to trade her in last weekend.  Minnesota winters and towing my sailboat were in the forefront of my mind so we only looked at 4WD vehicle that could handle at least as much as the Ranger did.  We ended up buying a 2009 Nissan Xterra.  Like I said, we are on the over kill end of the scale as the Xterra can haul 5,000 lbs.  No breeze in Minneapolis this morning but the forcaste for tomorrow is for winds 10-15 so I'll be giving the new rig a maiden run in the morning.  Can't wait to see how it handles.
Steve Ullrich, Savage, MN
1988 Com-Pac 16/III - Teacher's Pet

Salty19