News:

Howdy, Com-Pac'ers!
Hope you'll find the Forum to be both a good resource and
a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

How good does your SunCat sail closehold?

Started by hitchhiker, March 09, 2009, 09:46:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

hitchhiker

I have been sailing my SunCat for 9 months.  I don't think I am good at sailing my boat well when going closehold. The sloop-rig boats are supposed to sail closehold less than 45° to the wind. How close to the wind does your SunCat go? Now I am sailing about 70° to the wind and it is like coming and going parallel all the time, never going up to the wind. How about you? Don't you think gaff-rig boats can't sail to the wind well?

Craig Weis

Hello Hitchiker, Have not talked to you since this site went down. Last we spoke you were changing the sheet control on the boom. Sounds as if you sailing a bunch more then I am, of course winter and I hit a dry spell for a bit last summer as I was busy with many other projects and had no time to sail. OHHHH HUUUMMMMMM.
Now if I could only find a job, I lost mine when the wealthy people who buy yachts feel like their not going to be so wealthy under this new administration. skip.

mrb

Ahoy hitchicker

Don't be getting down on your sailing a cat boat.  Yes sloops generally do sail closer to the wind than cats, however my 16 will not sail as close as a 16-3.  Just the nature of the of design.

Have you tried varying you center board to see if you can increase performance.  Also how you sheet the sail can make a big difference.  A lot of people try to sheet in their sail to tight. When you get her a close to the wind as you can get her try easing off sail until you get a slight backwind effect then tighten sheet a little at a time to see what happens.