Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Why three batteries?

Started by Mundaysj, May 15, 2008, 08:31:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mundaysj

Hi all,

I was just wondering if anyone has any idea why my boat would have three batteries?  There is one under the cockpit seat and one each on either side under the v-berth.  There doesn't seem to be anything using them except the VHF, the original cockpit lights, navigational lights and bilge pump.  Would that need more that 1 battery?

One other question.. how long do I need to plug in to shore power to juice up the battery?  I know there is a mathematical equation, I'm just looking for a general idea.  The yacht club has a 20 minute limit for the dock with shore power and I was wondering if that will be enough time?

In case you can't tell, I'm a total newbie to a boat with a cabin!
Thanks!

kchunk

Hey there sj. IMO, three batteries is a bit excessive. I can think of a couple possibilities why: The previous owner once ran the batteries dead and is now paranoid; The previous owner had a battery getting weak and not holding a full charge so replaced it but figured he/she could still use the old one for backup power. At any rate, at least they're forward where the extra ballast is needed. When I bought my boat I immediately replaced both batteries. Got one marine starting and one marine deep cycle. My 9.9 has a charging circuit connected to the starting battery and a battery combiner between the starting and deep cycle batteries, so the alternator charge switched over the the deep cycle battery once the starting battery is charged.

As far as charging your setup, it depends on the type of battery and charger, but I don't think 20 minutes will do a whole lot.

Bob23

Sherie: