a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Newbie. Need major help.

Started by Rick Evans, November 10, 2004, 05:28:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rick Evans

Today I became the proud owner of a 1977 Com-Pac 16 which had spent much of the past few years living under a pecan tree in North Texas.  She's seen better times, believe me.  However, I've been sailing now for over 40 years and couldn't resist the chance to restore this classic.  I'm going to need a lot of help from you guys about how to do this.  To begin with, how do you paint the boat given that it's on a trailer and way to heavy to lift up.  My other trailer boats are lightweight sailing dinghies so, with the help of my two sons, we can lift them off the trailer, on to some sawhorses and do the job.  Not so with this boat which, of course, is one of the reasons I bought her.  If I paint around the points of contact on the trailer, obviously I'm going to have one sorry looking paint job.  So, any suggestions?  

Next, is there a reference for how the rigging is to be set up.  This girl is missing some lines not the least of which is the main sheet.  Is there a rigging diagram somewhere I could look at?  

The cabin has harbored squirrels and possums these many years.  Much of the wood is gone and the cushions are memories of distant past.  Are there vendors which sell replacement cushions?  Any templates so I can have some made?  In short, where can one find parts that may be needed.

I've heard a lot about the new Idasailor rudder.  Is this worth getting?  What else is available by which to improve her pointing ability?  

Sorry to pester you with all these questions and, worse yet, I'm sure I'll have a hundred more in the months to come as I tackle this restoration project.  I'd sure appreciate any suggestions you can offer.

Rick Evans
San Antonio, Texas

bro t

Hi Rick,