a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Another Rudder Thread

Started by Jim in TC, November 16, 2020, 09:02:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cpy23ecl

My experience with the ruddercraft rudder was on my CP23 and I loved the thing so much I had intended to order my new eclipse without a rudder and get another ruddercraft rudder until com-pac talked me out of it.

The RC rudder was a vast improvement on the 23 stock rudder and the mechanism to raise and drop the rudder was flawless and I never once had the rudder raise up any amount unexpectedly.  I loved the fact that I no longer had to remove the rudder when trailering the boat and it was so much easier to raise and lower the rudder.  The boat also steered better with less pressure on the tiller and no longer stalled out when tacking in very light winds.  That said, that was on a 23 and I have no experience with the RC rudder on any other boat.

Fred

Renae

I'm sorry to hear that the RC complete assembly does not necessarily function as advertised.  I'm sure it's a big improvement in the water, but it would be easier to lay down 6 bills if it snapped up smartly out of the water.  Maybe that's a big ask. 

One way or another, my rudder is on the to-do list for 2021.  Bruce's mod in the reefing thread looks like potentially the best option, particularly if done with the RC foil.  At least it's going to stay put.

bruce

Fred,

Congratulations on your new boat! That's a nice looking rudder that Com-Pac installs. Could potentially be used on a SC, but they get $486.20 for it, so no savings over other options.

Do you have the rudder blade control arm? If I've recall your recent posts correctly, you haven't had a chance to sail her yet. Any initial impressions about the rudder set up on the Eclipse? Not trying to put you on the spot, just curious.

The Eclipse transom may not be the easiest to fit a RC system to.