a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Chipped paint in hull, repaint?

Started by Dan26511, February 10, 2019, 04:42:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dan26511

Hi there!  I am a proud new owner of a 1987 Compac 19.  Seeking advise on the hull, the paint has a lot of chips, see pics.  Had a survey done that found the hull to be dry and I don't see any 'blisters'.  I keep the boat on Portage Lake, Onekama MI and it's currently in cold indoor storage.  This is my first boat, besides 30 years sailing a Laser, so I'm new to maintaining painted hulls.  Any suggestions?

Cruzin

Welcome and congrats on the new yacht! You may want to take some closeup pictures of the chipped areas. I am no expert but there are plenty available. Obviously we all want to see pictures of your boat too.

Dale
" Some people never find it, some... only pretend,  but Me; I just want to live happily ever after, now and then."  Jimmy Buffett

brackish

can you talk to the previous owner?  find out: 1. if an epoxy based barrier coat was put on the bare fiberglass hull? 2. the red you see is an antifouling paint, what type, hard or ablative.   With that knowledge and maybe a closeup picture of one of the chips we can probably help.

Tim Gardner

I will go out on a limb and say what you see here are blisters.  Been there, seen them.  To prove the point or not, sand the area dead center of the picture left to right and one fifth the way down from the top.  If that location suddenly shows a "chip" it is raised proud of the hull surface.

My 19 suffered the same issue.  I would bet this vessel spent all summer every summer in the water.