Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

Traveler for Horizon Cat

Started by ShotGunWillie, April 20, 2016, 08:33:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ShotGunWillie

i All,

I'm new to the Horizon Cat family.  I picked up a 2008 mid winter and have done a bunch of work/modifications already. 

- Lot's of rewiring.  New style battery switch, charger, replaced fused panel with breakers, 12v plugs, cabin fan........
- Replaced the plastic thru hull with bronze
- Lot's of polishing and cleaning, re-striping.
- Built new Teak handrails and Gallows
- New bilge pump
- LED's
- Portholes in cockpit area
- Lot's more.......

(I'll post pics if someone can tell me how to do it)

Now, after sailing her a few times,  I'd really like to change the main sheet set up.  (not like racing my Flying Scot but really nice and relaxing) I'm thinking of a traveler track and car setup for the main sheet.  It would allow for a little more sail control but mostly get the fiddle blocks out of the way and not in the middle of my back.  (What a great place to sit back and relax)  I would mount the track on the back top of the cockpit rail (where the current blocks are attached) and slightly bend the track to match the curve.  The new setup would cleat the mainsheet so it is released by pulling it up, not down like it is now.  I was looking at a bunch of Cat boat pictures on the internet and most of them have a simple traveler system with a rod guide and a block that slides along the guide.  Kinda pricey but I think it would be real nice.  I'll bet I'd have $750 bucks in it in no time.....What do you think?  Oh, I know some folks have moved the blocks to the gallows posts but I'm not convinced that is beefy enough for my taste.  I'm sure it works fine but I would prefer to get away from the double ended set up.

Thanks, Willie

rbh1515