News:

Howdy, Com-Pac'ers!
Hope you'll find the Forum to be both a good resource and
a place to make sailing friends.
Jump on in and have fun, folks! :)
- CaptK, Crewdog Barque, and your friendly CPYOA Moderators

Main Menu

safety scraping antifouling bottom using mask/snorkel?

Started by shamblin, June 10, 2012, 03:32:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shamblin

how dangerous is taking the plastic scraper to a still floating boat with antifouling paint ,using mask/snorkel.
does the badbad poison get scraped off into the water and does it go into us by skin or mouth?
it is said to be safer using a long handle and a real good bath after. dare i try it?
thanks.

MacGyver

This is the first time I have ever heard doing this........

What type of bottom paint is it?

I am a fiberglass tech at West Access Marina, Carlyle Illinois, We use Fein Sanders to sand the boat, If done properly something like 99 percent of the dust goes into the sander. We rent the sanders for 5 bucks a hour to our boaters.

This contains the paints in a bag that we then close off and can throw away.

The worst paints for toxicity that I know of are Trinidad by Petit..... HIGH couperous Oxide level......I hate that stuff.... and VC 17 just due to its copper level

Because the paint is in essence hard on the bottom, If you jump in and get to scraping, you probably arent really hurting anything, but I wouldnt do it, but then again I do it for a living while the boat is on the hard.

If you do it on the hard, take a scraper to it, just have a tarp down, and then throw that crap away. you will have to sand the rest anyway.....
and you can use a metal scraper to sheet that stuff off, plastic is going to dull quickly..

Just my advice, and with our Federal Regulations being a Core of Engineers operated lake, we stick to the rules.

Mac

Tell me what paint you have, and how long it has been on the boat, I can tell you the best methods (and safest to you) to get it off.